Skip to main content

Exeter Dog Training Club

training you to train your dog

How to join
Good Citizens
Contact Us
Canine First Aiders
About Us
Site Map
Annual General Meeting

The Committee look forward to welcoming all members to our Annual General Meeting which will be held at 8pm on Thursday 6th July at our regular venue, the Scout HQ, Little Silver, Ashton Road, Marsh Barton, Exeter.

Exeter Dog Training Club is run by members who give their time and effort free of charge.  All members are encouraged to contribute in some way to the running of the Club.  The AGM provides the opportunity for you to put forward your views and suggestions on improving the way the Club is run. 

Part of the business of the AGM is the election of Officers and Members of the Committee. The present Committee is:

  • Chair – Jenny Osborne
  • Honorary Secretary – Lucinda Francis
  • Honorary Treasurer – Rob Sargent
  • Assistant (Membership Secretary) – Angela Kingshott
  • Assistant Treasurer – David Johnson
  • Show Secretary – Chris Fifield
  • Head Trainer - Nikki Folland
  • Committee Members – Alice Blazer, Jenny Keith, Jenny Osborne, Margaret Warren, Milly Williams


The Officers automatically resign each year but may stand for re-election. Nominations may be made at the AGM but it would be appreciated if they could be handed to the Secretary in advance.


The Club is busier than ever, with membership and attendance at classes very high, and yet the number of people willing to help run the Club is in decline.  A number of long standing Committee Members have had to stand down in recent years, and so more than ever the Club really needs more members to take an active interest and bring new ideas. Please consider how you can help to run the Club. Members offering themselves for election should give the Secretary their name. You will need to have been a member for at least six months, be proposed and seconded, and willing and able to attend Club regularly.


Items for discussion at the AGM should be notified to the Secretary by email ( by Thursday 29th June for inclusion on the Agenda. Alternatively you can pass any items to one of the officers on a Thursday club night. We regret that items not received by that date cannot be brought up or discussed at the meeting. It would be helpful (but not essential) if you could let us know (by email or in person at Club) if you are planning to attend the AGM so that we can forward you an agenda and have a rough idea how many to expect.


Annual subscriptions were due on 1st April 2017. If you have not yet paid please do so as soon as possible (this does not apply to members joining after 1st January 2016). Only fully paid up members are entitled to vote or put forward resolutions at the AGM.



  • The PRESIDENTS CUP is awarded to the member who gains the highest number of points in Competitive obedience in not more than 10 Open or Championship Shows between 1 April 2015 and 31 March 2016.
  • The DEVONMEAD TROPHY is awarded as above to the member gaining the second highest number of points as above.
  • CLUB SPOONS are awarded to members gaining a 1st,2nd or 3rd at an Open Obedience Show


Members must attend at least 50% of training classes to qualify for the above 3 trophies. Points are awarded as follows: Challenge Certificate - 100, Reserve CC - 50, 1st - 6, 2nd - 5, 3rd - 4, 4th - 3, 5th – 2 and 6th – 1. Please submit claims to the Secretary before the meeting.